AECM – European Association of Guarantee institutions

AECM was founded in 1992 and it operates as an open, democratic organisation, independent of any political or financial group. AECM has 42 member organizations operating in 26 EU countries, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Russia and Turkey. They all have in common the mission of providing loan guarantees for SMEs who have economically feasible projects but cannot provide sufficient bankable collateral.

The financing of the agricultural sector is a main topic at AECM's events, they established a working group (WG) to deal with the arousing questions in that field. The members of the Working Group are from 13 countries, whose main objective is to represent the interests of rural guarantee organizations at international level and to provide an opportunity for exchanging experiences among members. The WG Agriculture is chaired by László Tóth, Deputy CEO of AVHGA. One of the most recent results of the Working Group is that its representatives had a successful meeting with Dermot Ryan, Senior Adviser and Communication Adviser of Phil Hogan's team and Michael Pielke, Head of Unit, DG Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission and their colleagues. The main topic was the combination of various forms of EU support and the better matching of EU-level financial instruments to national specificities.

AECM's working groups are the heart of the organization and some of the most meaningful ways for the members to get involved. Working groups provide the participants with the valuable expertise of other members and of external guests as well as with new opportunities.

aecm website:

21 February 2018